On pants and other ephemera

14 09 2010

My first temptation was not to comment on this one, but seeing as someone sent it to me to get my goat up, and I have had some biography with this particular issue, I thought I would share this Simcha Fisher post and then jot down a few thoughts. Honestly, I have no issue with women wearing pants whatsoever, and even having to write that felt weird. My mother has always worn pants on a daily basis. My wife wears pants. I see nothing wrong with pants. If you want to do a minor web anthropological study, just google all references to this particular essay and read all of the comments. The Internet makes all of the weirdos come out of the woodwork. Or better yet, don’t do it. I know you have better things to do.

My first exposure to the idea that “pants are immodest” came with my stint at the SSPX, where the good Bishop Williamson wrote that women had no business wearing trousers (or going to college, or giving their man lip, or… well, you get the idea). I didn’t really agree with it then, and certainly don’t now. Honestly, when I was in Argentina, I experienced much glee in seeing that the SSPX women, at least at home, wore pants unapologetically, for many of the same reasons that Mrs. Fisher writes.
Read the rest of this entry »





Souls cannot ascend without music

14 09 2010

‘Tis said, the pipe and lute that charm our ears
Derive their melody from rolling spheres;
But Faith, o’erpassing speculation’s bound,
Can see what sweetens every jangled sound.

We, who are parts of Adam, heard with him
The song of angels and of seraphim.
Our memory, though dull and sad, retains
Some echo still of those unearthly strains.

Oh, music is the meat of all who love,
Music uplifts the soul to realms above.
The ashes glow, the latent fires increase:
We listen and are fed with joy and peace.

-Rumi

as translated by R. A. Nicholson in ‘Persian Poems’, an Anthology of verse translations
edited by A.J.Arberry, Everyman’s Library, 1972








Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 64 other followers