Don Juan del Dinero: A Folk Saint for Our Times

16 03 2009

estampa20don20juan

Well, not really a folk saint. More like a benevolent spirit in the cult of Maria Lionza in Venezuela. Here is his “prayer”, in case you are remotely interested:

Yo (diga su nombre) invoco a la sublime influencia del Santo Nombre de Dios Todopoderoso y de Don Juan del Dinero para que me brindes protección y ayuda, para que me libres de la pobreza y la estrechez, me proveas de abundancia y felicidad, que brille para mí la estrella de la buena suerte y la fortuna y el éxito me acompañe en todo lo que emprenda, bajo tu amparo me acojo. Don Juan del Dinero, no me dejes en el olvido y siempre estés junto a mí. Amen.

I (name) invoke the sublime influence of the Holy Name of Almighty God and Don Juan del Dinero so that you may offer me protection and help, so that you may free me from poverty and need, that you provide me with abundance and happiness, that the star of good luck shine for me and may fortune and success accompany me in all that I set out to do, under your patronage I place myself. Don Juan del Dinero, do not leave me in forgetfulness and always be by my side. Amen.

Just thought I’d share, in case you want to have a “folk saint” bailout of your own,

Actions

Information

One response

5 01 2012
SalmaShef

I’m a college student and I extremely need an essay or dissertation drafted for school. Would like to experiment with a provider on-line Essay Writers For Hire. Has anybody tried out a writing provider for a university task? These organizations maintain to create authentic papers that will certainly not be flagged by instructors. What do you actually tend to suggest?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 64 other followers

